ASOSU releases 2023 election results


Alan Nguyen

The ASOSU Elections committee (from left to right) Abby Miller, Ethan Hampton, Sydney Navas and Sierra Young at work counting elections votes on March 10.

Nino Paoli, News Reporter

ASOSU president elect Carissa O’Donnell and vice president elect Dakota Canzano, talk with The Barometer in the Student Experience Center on Feb. 23. (Matthew McKenna )


Carissa O’Donnell and Dakota Canzano have won the president and vice president seats respectively with 54.29% of the vote in the Associated Students of Oregon State University 2023 election on March 10.

O’Donnell and Canzano received 1,450 votes, which was just 280 more than their competitors Julia Hayes and Angelo Arredondo. 

The 2023 election saw a 13.29% voter turnout, as 2,865 ballots were counted. 

O’Donnell, an ASOSU congressmember and second-year environmental science major, and Canzano, Student Fee Committee liaison for Intercollegiate Athletics and second-year human development and family services major, ran on five pillars:

  • Improving the disconnect between the student body and student government
  • Mental health accessibility 
  • Student employment benefits 
  • Student advocacy and equity
  • Sustainability initiatives

Senators will be decided preliminarily on Monday, March 13, at 4 p.m, though their campaigns are now closed. This is due to a survey error, according to current ASOSU Vice President Sierra Young.

“The reason we’re extending this is in the first 31 minutes of the ballot being opened we caught an error that affected 45 voters on the question for the senator ticket,” Young said. “We’re extending that for them to give them a fair chance to make the correct, informed vote.”

O’Donnell said the election results were an “awesome surprise.” 

“A lot of our policy ideas have resonated super well throughout the student body, so just making sure we commit to those policies that they’re so excited to see,” O’Donnell said. “… starting now with our positions within ASOSU.”

Canzano echoed O’Donnell’s excitement. 

“We give kudos to the other candidates as well for running a great campaign,” Canzano said. “I feel very thankful and honored that we get to represent Oregon State University next year and I couldn’t be more thrilled to be a part of this position.” 

Hayes and Arredondo said they were shocked and disappointed by the results. 

“I wasn’t expecting it to go this way, but Angelo and I are proud of the campaign we had,” Hayes said. “Unfortunately, we fell 280 votes short… we’re disappointed for sure, and I think a lot of other people are as well.”

Though disappointed, Arredondo looks forward to working with O’Donnell and Canzano.

“I do want to send a congratulations to the new president elect, Carissa, and the new vice president elect, Dakota,” Arredondo said. “All four of us ran because we genuinely want to improve and continue to improve student life for all students.”

Hayes will remain as an ASOSU senator despite these results, and Arredondo will consider reapplying for ASOSU policy director, a position which he currently holds, for the next academic year. 

Both parties believe voter turnout is an issue.

“I think it’s been an inspiring route throughout this campaign, just being able to go up to students and give these presentations and connect with various members of the student body,” O’Donnell said. “But every time asking: ‘How many of you know what ASOSU is?’ and you probably get three or four people to raise their hands in a room of like 20.”

The other preliminary positions were decided as follows:

Student Fee Committee Chair

Matteo Paola – 56.43%

SFC At-Large – 5 positions were open, and 4 candidates were up for election 

  1. Sophia Nowers – 1313 votes
  2. Abukar Mohamed – 1106 votes
  3. Cole Peters – 1043 votes
  4. Spencer Pederson – 973 votes
  5. One Seat Vacant
Was this article helpful?