Recap: Annual Black Excellence Ceremony


Alex Koetje, Illustrator

This illustration depicts someone receiving an award during the Black Excellence celebration that will take place on Feb. 3. The purpose of this celebration is to highlight the achievements of Black faculty, students and staff at Oregon State University.

Sydni Zidarevich, Justice, Equity and Diversity Beat Reporter

On Feb. 2, Oregon State University kicked off Black History Month with the Lonnie B. Harris Black Cultural Center’s annual Black Excellence Ceremony. This ceremony highlights the achievements of the previous year among students and faculty that are centered around the Black community on the OSU campus.

Ramycia McGee, a professor of english and literature at Linn Benton Community College, was this year’s keynote speaker. McGee has been prominent in initiating several events at LBCC such as, those that highlight Black and women’s history, founding  of the Valencia Cooper Second Chance Scholarship Opportunity Award.

During the presentation of scholarships and awards, the following students received the following awards:

Outstanding Black Faculty/Staff Award

  • Dorian Smith
  • Chanale Propst 
  • Marilyn Stewart
  • Ireti DeBato-Cancel
  • Christopher Hughbanks
  • Jason Thomas

Outstanding Black Student Award

  • DeAndre Walcott
  • Nazrawit Fitsum Berhe
  • Nouri Palani-Bennett
  • Xavier Tacker
  • Sydney Griswold

President’s Commission on the Status of Black Faculty and Staff Affairs (PCSBSFA)

  • Charissa Jones

Bryant-Morgan Scholarship (BMS)

  • Freshman: Amari Carter
  • Sophomore: Jose Naranjo Mendez
  • Junior: Ella Bailey
  • Senior: Nazrawit Berhe
  • Graduate: Judah Joslyn
  • VIP Scholar: Judah Joslyn

Dr. Keith Dempsey Nia Black Scholar Housing Scholarship for 2022-23 academic year

  • Vanessa Sellers
  • Randall Branch
  • Travolis Williams
  • Giada Langham
  • Nyeib Lobnibe
  • Oluwadara Elkanah
  • Jose Naranjo Mendez
Was this article helpful?