Five OSU Men’s Basketball players named Pac-12 All-Academic

OSU sophomore guard Ethan Thompson gives his teammates Tres Tinkle (left) and Gligorije Rakocevic (right) high fives in their game against Washington. Thompson, Gligorije and Tinkle were all selected for Pac-12 All-Academic awards on Tuesday.

OMN Sports Staff

Five members of the Oregon State Men’s Basketball team earned Pac-12 All-Academic awards on Tuesday, according to a press release by OSU Athletics.

OSU senior guard Stephen Thompson Jr., senior center Gligorije Rakocevic and sophomore guard Zach Reichle were named Pac-12 All-Academic First Team, while sophomore guard Ethan Thompson was selected Second Team and junior forward Tres Tinkle earned honorable mention.

Thompson Jr. was recently named the 2018-19 Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year. Finishing his final season of collegiate basketball this year, Thompson Jr. holds the Oregon State record for most made 3-point field goals with 230 and is fourth all-time in scoring in the program.

Rakocevic and Thompson Jr. have both earned All-Academic First Team for a total three times, making them the first Oregon State players to do so.

This is Tinkle’s third Pac-12 All-Academic award, as he earned Second Team in his two previous season with the Beavers. Tinkle was also named to the All-Pac-12 First Team this year following a season where he finished second in the conference in scoring with 20.7 points per game and fourth in steals per game with 1.7. Additionally, Tinkle has scored in double figures for 64 consecutive games, the second-longest streak in program history. 

Reichle tallied the highest cumulative GPA out of the selected Beavers, earning a 3.78 in business information systems.

Was this article helpful?